Eagle Scout is the highest advancement rank in Boy Scouting. In order to earn your Eagle Scout Rank, you must have progression through all of the ranks, earn merit badges, and complete other various leadership roles and services.

Eagle Scout Rank

To earn the rank, a Boy Scout must:

  • Progress through the Scouts BSA ranks in the following order:

    • Tenderfoot
    • Second Class
    • First Class
    • Star
    • Life
    • Eagle
  • Earn 21 merit badges, including:

    • First Aid
    • Citizenship in the Community
    • Citizenship in the Nation
    • Citizenship in Society
    • Citizenship in the World
    • Communications
    • Cooking
    • Environmental Science
    • Personal Fitness
    • Camping
    • Family Life
    • Personal Management
    • Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving
    • Cycling, Hiking, or Swimming
  • Serve six months in a Scouts BSA Troop leadership position.

  • Plan, develop, and give leadership to a service project for any religious organization or any school or community.

  • Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.

  • Successfully complete an Eagle Scout board of review.

Eagle Scout Questions?

National Eagle Scout Association Website
Eagle Scout Scholarships

News & Updates